Trust your instinct and whiff.

Take a whiff. Like you mean it. I’m serious. Try to breathe in the air of your surrounding, like a new born baby took his/her first breathe after stayed in mommy’s belly for ten months.

How was it? What did you just smell? Is it the stringent sweaty gym-like and mildew stench that almost unbearable from the crampy computer lab? Or maybe you’re reading this while you’re on your toilet seat, so I assumed you’re whiffing product of the fermentation by happy bacteria from your colon (I assumed Xd). Perhaps its the noticeable alluring cologne of a cute guy who just pass by your table.

Or it could be the aroma from the pizza you just ordered, knowing that it’s about to be served.

It might be the smell from your fresh laundry, clean but felt like overwhelmed and tainted by some pixie sticks. It can be the stale coffee smell left from the cup you left in the sink but forgotten to wash like FOREVER. Perhaps, it’s the scent of body wash that your partner smells like and you absolutely loved it dearly.

Or the scent of the rain when it touches the earth, moist while slightly pine/woodsy but wonderful refreshing feeling that reminds you that you’re indeed alive. .

I recalled when I was little, I did laundry with my mother. I have three guys in my family so sorting clothes out is kinda a problem because they all looked the same, even my mother can’t differentiate them. So, I took a whiff at those garments which I can’t tell who’s is who’s, then sort them according to the smells. Yes. I can tell who’s clothes they are with my nose. So I’m kinda a hound here. -_-

But isn’t that wonderful? I mean, we are blessed with the ability to smell, while just a whiff it can bring you to many memories, good and bad ones, like magic. (The truth is, your brain amygdala, hippocampus blablabla they are the one working on the  magic).

Again, my point is science has pointed out that our inherent ability to smell could help us to sniff out the perfect partner (click here for the article). Someone even figured out something called pheromone party for singles other than Tinder.

So maybe you should close your eyes and your heart. Let your nose and instinct guide you instead. *I said ‘maybe’. No guarantee.

love, mingzz x

Leave a Reply

