A Single Girl’s Thoughts On Relationships

I need to gain emotional independence.

Thought Catalog

I was sixteen going on seventeen when I left home. Looking back, I wonder what my parents were thinking letting a sixteen year old go half-way around the world. Of course, sixteen years of age means different things to different peoples and cultures. And my parents would tell you they had as much worry as any parent who lets their late-teen leave home. But my parents would also tell you as they often tell me, “But we weren’t really worried about you. You always knew how to take care of yourself.” I guess I grew up fast and developed a sense of independence that was mental before it was anywhere legal or actual.

I’ve almost always been the single one of my friends – through high school, college, grad school, and even when I’ve been seeing someone, it just never led to anything worthwhile. And the truth is I’ve always…

View original post 804 more words

Leave a Reply

